mr bones vs. the end

That day I kept my mouth shut. We were down to our last days together, hours actually. I had to prove I am a good, loyal dog. I didn’t whine about not having eaten in the past thirty-six hours. I didnʼt protest for having walked over half America. I didn’t sniff the air for female scents, no. I didn’t stop to pee on every lamppost and fire hydrant we went by, and we went by an awful lot of them. I was really, really, really good, and just silently walked along beside him. And Willy was silent as well, that was what concerned me the most. To him, talking was as natural as eating French fries and drinking Coke is to little children. He talked always, always and everywhere, even in his dream. People usually thought he was talking to himself, but the truth was he was talking to me, yes, he was talking with me. But that day he was silent. That was a bad sign. I knew that he wasnʼt long for this world.

This is the end
Beautiful friend
This is the end
My only friend, the end
Of our elaborate plans, the end
Of everything that stands, the end
No safety or surprise, the end
I’ll never look into your eyes… again

About this entry