mr bones vs. amerika

The family had introduced me to a whole different America from the one I had known with Willy. Life with him had been good, but maybe this was even better. Not a day went by when I didn’t experience some sudden revelation, discover something fantastic, something that was missing from my former life with him. It wasn’t just the regular meals, my new IKEA house or the absence of ticks and fleas from my coat. It was the backyard barbecues, piles of steak bones and weekend visits to McDonaldʼs. I finally understood why Lassie came back home. I had landed in the super duper America of friendly neighbors, eighty inched TVs and foot massagers. Life was swell. There was no point in growling and snarling. Willy had always attacked these things, but he had been an outsider looking in, refusing to give this immaculate America any chance. But now that I was part of this all-American dream, I wondered where my old master had gone wrong. It might not have been perfect in this place, but the fridge was always full, thatʼs for sure. And yes, yes, yes, I was tethered to a wire all day, but a man gets used to all kinds of thins, a dog especially. And, ok, I couldnʼt really always enter the house, but everything comes with a price, thatʼs normal nowadays, no? Once I got used to the mechanics of the system, it no longer seemed so important. And they got me castrated, so what… No pain, no gain. And the name weighted on me like a millstone, they named me… Sparky.

We’re all living in Amerika
Amerika ist wunderbar
we’re all living in Amerika
Amerika
Amerika

Rammstein’s music video of Amerika, dubbed over with the English version of the song. Rammstein has made a German and English version of this song, yet it isn’t an exact translation. They translated it so it will sound better in English.


We’re all living in Amerika
Amerika ist wunderbar
we’re all living in Amerika
Amerika
Amerika

Do you want me?
(no I don’t)
Do you need me?
(No I don’t)
Dance with me I’m leading?
(No I can’t)
Will you love me?
(No I won’t)

This is not a love song
(No it’s not)
I don’t sing my mother tounge
(No I don’t)
Afrika vor Santa Claus
Und vor Paris steht Mickey Maus

We’re all living in Amerika
Amerika ist wunderbar
we’re all living in Amerika
Amerika
Amerika

Will you do it?
(No I won’t)
Should you do it?
(No I don’t)
Could you do it?
(No I can’t)
Will you please me?
(No I won’t)

If you don’t want me
(You’ll get hurt)
If you don’t need me
(You’ll get hurt)
If you don’t love me
(You’ll get hurt)
Fuck you is the magic word

We’re all living in Amerika
Amerika ist wunderbar
we’re all living in Amerika
Amerika
Amerika

We’re all living in Amerika
Coca Cola, Wonderbra
We’re all living in Amerika
Amerika
Amerika

This is not a love song
No, this is not a love song
This is how we do it
You’ll get hurt
Fuck you is the sweetest word

We’re all living in Amerika
Amerika ist Wunderbar
we’re all living in Amerika
Amerika
Amerika

We’re all living in Amerika
Coca Cola, sometimes war
we’re all living in Amerika
Amerika
Amerika

About this entry